Hard Facts and Insider Analysis from Stephen Matchett
of the day
 Karu Esselle (UTS) is Engineering Australia’s Professional Engineer of the Year.
At Griffith U, Mark Loon becomes head of the Department of Business Strategy and Innovation. He joins from Northumbria U in the UK. Amanda Daly who was acting at Business Strategy returns to Deputy Dean Leaning and Teaching for the Business School.
The Heart Foundation announces grants
Future Leadership I (three-seven years post PhD): Dorothea Dumuid (Uni SA) Danielle Kamato (Griffith U) Liliana Laranjo (Uni Sydney) Lana McClements (UTS) James McFadyen (Baker HDI) Stephanie Partridge (Uni Sydney) Dean Picone (Uni Tasmania) Pierre Qian (Uni Sydney)
Future Leadership II (seven-ten years post PhD): Kathryn Backhole (Deakin U) Eleni Giannoulatou (Victor Chang Cadiac RI) Shaun Gregory (Monash U) Kathryn Hayward (Uni Melbourne) Xiaowei Wang (Baker HDI)
Future Leadership III (ten to 15 years post PhD): Jodie Ingles (Garvan IMR) Nathan Palpant (Uni Queensland) Peter Psaltis (Uni Adelaide)
The Network of Interdisciplinary and Transdisciplinary Research Organisations announces new leadership appointments. Iain Gordon(ANU) replaces inaugural president Gabriele Bammer (also ANU), Beth Fulton (U Tasmania, Martin Bliemel (UTS) are elected to the executive.
of the week
International society, ACS Photonics announces its 2023 young innovator – Igor Aharonovich (UTS).
Jessica Brinsdon joins the National Tertiary Education Union as comms manager.
David Castle is appointed professor of psychiatry at the newly announce Centre for Mental Health Service Innovation in Tasmania. It’s a partnership between the state government and Uni Tas. He joins from the University of Toronto.
Eucalypts Australia announces the 2023 Dahl Fellowships, for “a project related to eucalypts that is not readily fundable elsewhere.” Winners are palaeocologist and artist Elizabeth EdmondsAlyssa Martino (Uni Sydney PhD researcher on Myrtle rust resistance) and Brett Mifsud (Victorian school teacher) who will record a survey of Tasmania’s giant eucalypts.
Zoe Piper is appointed Dean of Adjuncts at Uni Canberra. She will lead the university’s engagement with adjuncts and professors emeriti.
Kris Ryan is appointed DVC Academic at Uni Queensland. He moves from Monash U, where he is PVC A.
Flora Salim (UNSW) is announced chief investigator at the Australian Research Council Centre of Excellence for Automated Decision-Making and Society.
Jo White starts next month as director of Canberra’s science museum, Questacon. She will move from the Royal Botanical Garden, in Sydney.
Katherine Woodthorpe is elected president of the Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering, starting January. She succeeds Hugh Bradlow. Dr Woodthorpe is professional director.
Lisa Zamberlan is acting PVC International at UNSW. She covers during recruitment of the new DVC (unless it ends up a VP) Global position.
to get daily updates on what’s happening in the world of Australian Higher Education
Hard Facts and Insider Analysis from Stephen Matchett
Copyright © 2017 Campus Morning Mail