Hotel Management
The 2023 awards, hosted by HM magazine, took place at The Star Event Centre, where outstanding properties and people across Australia, New Zealand and the South Pacific were recognised in spectacular fashion.
A total of 52 categories were presented on the night to deserving winners across people, departments, properties and chains.
Amongst the major awards presented at the event, Accor won Accommodation Chain of the Year, while W Hotels won Hotel Brand of the Year.
On the property front, Crown Towers Sydney and Sofitel Queenstown were the winners of the Australasian Hotel of the Year category.
The major winners in the People Awards were Marriott International’s Sean Hunt who won Australasian Hotelier, and Kenneth Macpherson of IHG Hotels & Resorts who was awarded Asia-Pacific Hotelier.
Hilton CEO Christopher J. Nassetta was recognised as HM Magazine Global Hotelier of the Year – another major win for the Hilton team following its recent win as World’s Best Workplace.
The late Antony ‘Rat’ Raiteri, Sealy of Australia was inducted into the Hall of Fame with a heartfelt tribute from Intermedia Group’s James Wells.
Franz Mascarenhas, Managing Director, Cordis Auckland was honoured with the Ashley Spencer Service to the Industry Award.
“On behalf of the HM magazine team, I’m proud we have been able to recognise the leading people, departments, properties, chains and brands across Australasia in front of our largest ever audience,” said HM Awards Founder and Chief Judge, and HM magazine Editor-In-Chief, James Wilkinson.
“There is some incredible talent in the accommodation industry in Australasia and so many received the recognition they most definitely deserved. Well done to everyone.”
The 2023 HM Awards for Hotel and Accommodation Excellence were presented by Sealy Posturepedic; co-hosted by the Blue Mountains International Hotel Management School (BMIHMS) at Torrens University Australia and Hostplus; sponsored by Foxtel for Business, ahs Hospitality, De Beaurepaire Wines, FutureLog, Encore, Silant, Assa Abloy Global Solution and Vittoria Coffee; and supported by Accommodation Australia (AA), Hotel Council Aotearoa, Beer Republic, TravMedia, Watson Farley & Williams and WAYFARER.
Congratulations to all the winners and highly commended. Here is the full list:

Owned by The Intermedia Group.