Crowd gathered in front of the Reconciliation Pole at UBC on Orange Shirt Day 2022. Photo credit: Indian Residential School History and Dialogue Centre.
Sep 27, 2023    |   For more information, contact Sachintha Wickramasinghe
September 30 is both the National Day for Truth and Reconciliation and Orange Shirt Day. It is a date to recognize residential school survivors, intergenerational survivors and those who didn’t return home. It’s also a day to learn about and reflect on the history and ongoing impacts of the Indian residential school system and other colonial policies in Canada. 
UBC experts are available to comment. 
Brenna Bhandar
Associate Professor, Peter A. Allard School of Law
Email: bhandar@allard.ubc.ca 
Interview language(s): English 
Dr. Janice Forsyth (she/her)
Professor, School of Kinesiology
Email: janice.forsyth@ubc.ca
Interview language(s): English 
Dr. Tricia Logan
Interim Academic Director, Indian Residential School History and Dialogue Centre
Assistant Professor, First Nations and Indigenous Studies
Email: tricia.logan@ubc.ca 
Interview language(s): English 
Dr. Andrew Martindale
Professor, Department of Anthropology
Email: andrew.martindale@ubc.ca 
Interview language(s): English 
Chiteleqches / Dr. Richard Vedan, RSW
Associate Professor Emeritus, School of Social Work
Member, Secwepemc First Nation
Email: richard.vedan@ubc.ca 
Interview language(s): English 
Click here for more information on events being held at UBC around Orange Shirt Day, including the Intergenerational March scheduled for Sept. 30. 
Available interviews: 
Danilo Caron (he/him)
PhD student, Department of Civil Engineering
Email: danilo.caron@ubc.ca 
Interview language(s): English 
Dana-Lyn McKenzie
Senior Manager, EDI and Indigeneity, Faculty of Applied Science/Faculty of Land and Food Systems
Email: danalyn.mackenzie@ubc.ca 
Interview language(s): English 
To learn more about Orange Shirt Day or Indian Residential School history, visit: 

News Tips
An information source that gives journalists access to UBC’s expertise.

source