Ready to apply?
Curtin University has announced the winners of the 2023 Research and Engagement Awards.
The awards, held on November 28, acknowledge research excellence and outstanding media engagement across different career stages and disciplines.
Curtin’s Researcher of the Year was awarded to John Curtin Distinguished Professor Sharon Parker in recognition of her outstanding leadership and research in her role as Director of the Centre for Transformative Work Design, based at Curtin’s Future of Work Institute. Professor Parker is a Kathleen Fitzpatrick Australian Research Council Laureate Fellow and her research in job and work design, as well as proactivity, mental health and job performance has had lasting impact on people and organisations.
The 2023 Early Career Researcher of the Year went to joint Senior Midwifery Research Fellow at Curtin and North Metropolitan Health Service, Dr Zoe Bradfield. With 67 publications and more than two decades of clinical experience in rural and metropolitan settings, Zoe’s passion and research has improved health outcomes for countless women and babies.  
This year the awards were re-imagined to align with Curtin’s strategic pillars of People, Planet and Partnership.
Winners included:
People (celebrating outstanding research in any discipline with a focus on making a difference for people)
John Curtin Distinguished Professor Chris Reid from the School of Population Health
People- Early Career
Dr Samantha Colledge-Frisby from the School of Population Health
Planet (celebrating outstanding research in any discipline that makes a difference to our planet)
Associate Professor Wensu Chen from the School of Civil and Mechanical Engineering
Planet- Early Career
Dr Caitlin Maling from the School of Media, Creative Arts and Social Inquiry
Partnership (celebrating outstanding research in any discipline that makes a difference through partnership)
Dr Julia Easton from the School of Molecular and Life Sciences
Partnership- Early Career
Dr Yongze Song from the School of Design and the Built Environment
Three Rs Animal Ethics
Dr Daniel Brown, Dr Enoch Perimal and Mr Matthew Kenrick from the Curtin Medical School
The winners of the 2023 Curtin Media Engagement Awards were also announced, in recognition of the researchers who have played the greatest role in raising the profile of the University in the media.
The winners include:
Most Outstanding Research News Story
Dr Hugo Olierook, Dr Luc Doucet and Dr Denis Fougerouse Argyle study reveals crucial third clue to finding new diamond deposits
Most Prolific Media Commentator for the Faculty of Health Sciences
Professor Stuart Kinner
Most Prolific Media Commentator for the Faculty of Science and Engineering
Dr Natasha Hurley-Walker
Most Prolific Media Commentator for the Faculty of Business and Law
Associate Professor Hannah McGlade
Most Prolific Media Commentator for the Faculty of Humanities
Professor Joe Siracusa
Highest Contribution to The Conversation
Professor Steven Tingay
Highest readership of an article on The Conversation
Dr Eleanor Sansom
Highest Contribution to the Australian Science Media Centre
John Curtin Distinguished Professor Peter Newman
Collaboration Champion
Associate Professor Htwe Htwe Thein
Associate Professor Liam Wagner
Best New Talent
Adele Pentland

Corporate Communications Consultant
A luminary of Australian literature, John Curtin Distinguished Professor Kim Scott has been announced as a 2024 Fellow in the…
Investigating how the very small can have a very big impact on the planet has seen Curtin University research fellow…
Local artist Stewart Scambler was announced as the winner of the prestigious John Stringer Prize 2023, at the exhibition opening…
Curtin would like to pay respect to the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander members of our community by acknowledging the traditional owners of the land on which the Perth campus is located, the Whadjuk people of the Nyungar Nation; and on our Kalgoorlie campus, the Wongutha people of the North-Eastern Goldfields.
ABN 99 143 842 569.
CRICOS Provider Code 00301J.