Triple Eight Race Engineering has been the benchmark in its 20 years in Supercars, which culminated in its 250th victory at Sandown.
Broc Feeney and Jamie Whincup notched up the team’s 250th win in the Penrite Oil Sandown 500, with Sandown one of the team’s best hunting grounds.
The team’s wins have come in exactly 20 years, given Triple Eight debuted in the 2003 Sandown 500 after its takeover of Briggs Motor Sport.
In the wake of the team’s milestone, breaks down the key markers of Triple Eight’s 250 victories.
Whincup has taken an even 50 per cent — 125 — of Triple Eight’s 250 wins. All 125 of his wins have come with the team, the first coming in the 2006 Adelaide 500. Craig Lowndes claimed the team’s first win, at Eastern Creek in 2005, as well as the team’s first enduro win alongside Frenchman Muller later that year at Sandown. The team has claimed 27 wins in two-driver enduro races, including last weekend’s Sandown 500 and two of the last three Bathurst 1000s.
engineer sydney
Most wins for Triple Eight by driver
125: Jamie Whincup
68: Shane van Gisbergen
58: Craig Lowndes
6: Broc Feeney, Paul Dumbrell
3: Garth Tander, Mark Skaife
2: Warren Luff, Steven Richards, Sebastien Bourdais
1: Yvan Muller, Steve Owen, Alex Premat
Remarkably, 27 per cent of the team’s wins have come at Symmons Plains (26), Townsville (22) and Sandown (20). The team has won at each circuit it has raced at bar Shanghai, which hosted a single round of three races in 2005. The team has won an equal record nine Bathurst 1000s, with Shane van Gisbergen’s 2021 sprint wins taking the team’s Mount Panorama tally to 11. In total, Triple Eight has won at 22 different tracks across five different countries — Australia, New Zealand, Bahrain, the United Arab Emirates and the United States of America.
engineer sydney
Triple Eight’s most successful circuits
26: Symmons Plains
22: Townsville
20: Sandown
19: Adelaide
17: Hidden Valley
16: Gold Coast
14: Queensland Raceway
14: Sydney Motorsport Park
12: Pukekohe, Perth
11: Mount Panorama, Phillip Island
10: Winton
9: Sydney Olympic Park
6: The Bend, Bahrain, Yas Marina
5: Albert Park
4: Newcastle, Hamilton
3: Circuit of the Americas, Oran Park
Triple Eight started life as a Ford team, taking over two Falcons from Briggs Motor Sport. Between 2003 and 2009, the team won 51 races in Falcons — including two championships and three straight Bathursts — before changing to the red side in 2010. The team’s most successful era was with General Motors, winning seven drivers’ titles — four for Whincup, three for van Gisbergen — between 2011 and 2022. The team’s final race in a Commodore resulted in victory for Feeney, which was the team’s 190th with Holden. Such was Triple Eight’s dominance with Holden, that it has more wins with the brand than any other team has altogether.
engineer sydney
Most Triple Eight wins by marque
190: Holden
51: Ford
9: Chevrolet
The team has won in seven different models across three different marques, with the Camaro now the team’s weapon of choice. The first victory came in a BA Falcon courtesy of Lowndes in 2005, with its first Bathurst win also coming in a BA. However, the first championships were won in the BF Falcon in 2008, before Commodores won the drivers’ title in 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2016, 2017, 2021 and 2022.
engineer sydney
Most Triple Eight wins by model
72: Holden Commodore VF
71: Holden Commodore ZB
46: Holden Commodore VE/VE II
25: Ford Falcon BF
15: Ford Falcon FG
12: Ford Falcon BA
9: Chevrolet Camaro